I need to hit the “brake” today

before I fall let’s hit the brake

I need to hit the “brake”  in my life today before tumbling down.

Squeezing this post in between some house chores – while soaking some clothes in fabric softener. Nagpapalaba kami but there’s some that I prefer to hand wash.

I’m talking to two people yesterday and I can’t help but wonder and reflect what’s in my heart.

3 questions prompts me and makes my mind wander while my hands are full (with chores today)

Here’s some questions that bothers me?

Do I fully rely on God’s grace?
Do I “wing it” sometime?

If I’m confident in doing something do I perform for man or to please God?

Do I perceive myself to be better than others or label(negatively) them?

One instance of failure does not define one man’s whole life (I think). I’ve seen and heard people (including myself) label people, now reflecting on it, it’s not nice at all.  Even if your intentions are good may our word be filtered with love.

Today, I’m reminded to rely on God’s grace. I’m not able apart from Him.

Can I make myself wake up in the morning? No
Can I create the air that I breath and desperately need? No
Where does wisdom to fanthom things come from? (Including work related things) from God

One sickness or an accident can just wipe me off the face of the earth. What can I boast I’m just a fragile human compared to forces of nature.

All this I exist because of God’s grace and LOVE.
All skills, achievements and influence I have, I have because God enabled and allowed.

I need to hit the “brake” in life for a pause and have a proper perspective on things.  Today, this verse pop’s in my head, like a line in a song (we call it last song syndrome – LSS)

Proverbs 16:18

18 Pride goes before destruction,

a haughty spirit before a fall.

My small victories in life may go up my head and not my heart.  If it goes in my head alone will produce pride. If it goes to my heart (with right attitude) – all I can say is I’m thankful because (my God) your with me and enables me. My head should always have the knowledge that it’s Him who enables me.

I’m ready to go out again and hold on to my Father’s hand.

One thought on “I need to hit the “brake” today

  1. very nice post vanj. 🙂 this reminds me of a verse, in Micah 6:8 it says
    “He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”

Leave a Reply

